‘The School for Good and Evil’ Book Tag (original)

You may know that I’m pretty obsessed with ‘The School for Good and Evil’ series by Soman Chainani (omg Book 6 releases in a day) – so why not create a book tag inspired by it? It’s spoiler-free so you don’t have to have read them to do the tag, though of course it’s more fun if you understand the references! (Trying to get more people to read it? Who, me?)

Rules:

  • Thank whoever tagged you and link back to their post!
  • Link to the original tag’s creator: Sabrina @ Notes From a Paper Plane Nomad! Please credit if using these graphics, these eyeballs didn’t dry out squinting at a screen for nothing 👀
  • Pick a book that fits each prompt.
  • Tag whoever, as many or as few as you like!
  • Post these rules and list of prompts in your tag post. If you copy-paste the rules, it should automatically pingback to me so I’ll see your tag post!

‘Railhead’ is one of my all-time favourites and my favourite sci-fi. I never expected to love it so much but I’m so glad I found it, as I’m now a big Reeve fan. (See my list of 10 reasons why I love Railhead here!)

Soraya, the protagonist of ‘Girl, Serpent, Thorn’ by Melissa Bashardoust is cursed to be fatally poisonous to the touch and has struggled all her life with her fear that she is a monster. Great read and I enjoyed Soraya’s development!

I first read ‘Blood Red Road’ by Moira Young when I was about 14, and it immediately lodged in my head (and heart) forever. The protagonist Saba is unlike anyone I’ve ever read before and the writing style is very unique.

Wow, another Philip Reeve entry here?? ‘Here Lies Arthur’ was just *weeps* so good. It’s more historical fiction than fantasy but it’s my favourite Arthurian retelling!

‘The Boy, the Mole, the Fox and the Horse’ by Charlie Mackesy is one of the most wholesome, adorable books I’ve ever read!

The Grishaverse collection of short stories, ‘The Language of Thorns’ by Leigh Bardugo, was full of subversive original fairytales complete with absolutely stunning illustrations. I loved that the border illustrations (on every page) developed different details as you progress through each story!

I loved the Widdershins sisters in ‘A Pinch of Magic’ by Michelle Harrison. It was a one-sitting read for me (till 4am whoops) and I need to read the sequel soon!

‘A Monster Calls’ by Patrick Ness, illustrated by Jim Kay from an original idea from Siobhan Dowd. This book was just incredible and totally unexpected – if you’ve not read it yet, I absolutely recommend!

The novella ‘Fairest’ in Marissa Meyer’s ‘The Lunar Chronicles’ sci-fi retelling series tells the backstory of the series’ relentless antagonist, Queen Levana. I’m not going to give anything away but it was some amazing character work, with plenty of twists.

‘The Worrysaurus’ by Rachel Bright and illustrated by Chris Chatterton is a super cute and insightful depiction of a baby dinosaur struggling with and learning to handle his overwhelming worries. I’ll definitely be re-reading this when I want a little pick-me-up!

(Laughing at myself for setting a prompt that I can’t really answer…)

I wouldn’t go so far to say that reading ‘Once & Future’ by Capetta and McCarthy was a punishment, but it was a letdown. The premise was great though!

As if I wouldn’t include a ‘The School for Good and Evil’ novel in this list! ‘Quests for Glory’ by Soman Chainani had one of the most memorable, 0-600 cliffhangers I’ve read in a long, long time.

I tag…

Your SGE Book Tag posts!

I saw May over @ Forever and Everly do this with her Percy Jackson/Heroes of Olympus Character Book Tag (see my tag post for it here!) and I’d love to list your posts here for the SGE Book Tag!

Thanks for reading! I hope you’ll find this fun – I had so many prompt ideas that I had to start working on a Part II 😂 As always, let me know any thoughts below!

43 thoughts on “‘The School for Good and Evil’ Book Tag (original)

  1. Oh hello!
    Thanks a truckload for creating this tag! Without, it I wouldn’t have discovered your blog (which btw is waaaaay too good!). I had a lot of fun doing the tag, hope you had as much fun reading my answers!

    Well, here’s to more interaction and even more tags from your blog!

    Like

Leave a comment