The BTS ‘BE’ Book Tag (Original!) + song commentary

Rules:

  • Thank whoever tagged you and link back to their post.
  • Link to the original tag’s creator: Sabrina @ Notes From a Paper Plane Nomad (please credit if using these graphics!)
  • Pick a book that fits each prompt.
  • Tag your friends or leave it open-ended!
  • Copy-paste these rules and list of prompts in your tag post (it should automatically pingback to the original so your post can be added to a masterlist!)
‘Life Goes On’: A book to remember 2020 by

…One day the world stopped
Without any warning
Spring didn’t know to wait
Showed up not even a minute late

‘Blue Lily, Lily Blue’ by Maggie Stiefvater (narrated by Will Patton)

2020 is the year I started listening to audiobooks for the first time, realised I could borrow ebooks and audiobooks from my library (the things you find out during lockdown!) and also became slightly obsessed with ‘The Raven Cycle’.

‘Life Goes On’ is probably my favourite off the album (with a wonderful MV) and definitely one of my favourite BTS songs. Big ‘Spring Day’ vibes! This song sends a message of healing, togetherness and hope as we move into a new world changed by COVID. I’ll never be able to listen to this song without thinking of 2020, ergo the prompt!

I watched this MV multiple times and the third time I suddenly started sobbing 😂 I think it’s because the song hits so hard right now during COVID. My favourite part is either Suga’s rap or j-hope’s humming. Or the chorus. Or…okay I’ll stop before I just name every part of this song.

‘Fly To My Room’: book with a new perspective

Let’s go, let me fly to my room
Keep your gaze down and just zoom anywhere
Come on now, let me fly to my
Get me outta my blues
And now I’m feelin’ brand new

‘The Rest of Us Just Live Here’ by Patrick Ness

Before this, I’d never read any books from the POV of those ‘sideline’ characters who drift around the margins of the superhero/Chosen One save-the-world sort of stories. The concept was so refreshing, and the way it shows how even ‘mundane’, ‘small’ lives can be extraordinary actually really fits with ‘Fly To My Room’.

Basically this song is about the surreal experience of many people finding themselves confined to their homes/rooms during lockdown, but with a change of perspective and newfound appreciation of mundane, small things, it’s not so bad.

Audio of ‘Fly To My Room’

I love this song: the airy intro, great beat and meaningful lyrics.

Blue & Grey: a book with mental health topics

I guess everyone’s happy
Can you look at me? ‘Cause I am blue and grey
The meaning of the tears reflected in the mirror
My colour hidden with a smile, blue and grey

I just wanna be happier
Am I being too greedy?

I’m just standing there without focus
I don’t feel like myself at this moment

‘The Worrysaurus’ by Rachel Bright and Chris Chatterton

An absolute gem of a book for kids and adults alike, this picture book stars a baby dino who has anxiety, and talks him through a couple ways to manage his worries. It was so relatable and I cried for about two of the three minutes it took to read this.

‘Blue & Grey’ is such a beautiful and heartbreaking song from start to finish. It’s one of those songs you can wail plaintively along to in the shower when you just need to get it all out. Alternatively, just listen to it and weep in silence…whatever suits you. A good cry can be really helpful!

Skit: a book with great banter or made you laugh

(SUGA enters)
SUGA: Oh, I’m sorry Billboard No. 1 singer has arrived too late. I wеnt to bathroom
J-hope: Hahaha! (clapping hands) I told you!
RM: Tell us how you feel!
SUGA: ** **
(all laugh)
Jin: Okay, that was fantastic!
SUGA: Can you treat Billboard No. 1 singеr like this? No seat?
RM: There are six No. 1 singers who arrived earlier than you!

‘The Extraordinaries’ by TJ Klune

This book made my throat hurt laughing. The back-and-forth between the main character, Nick, and his friends, dad, superhero crush, even with his enemies – top-notch banter.

So different in tone to ‘Blue & Grey’, hahahah! ‘Skit’ is BTS bantering with each other after their single ‘Dynamite’ hit Billboard No.1, i.e. why they jokingly refer to themselves over and over as ‘Billboard No. 1 singer’. I just cracked up every time they did that! Big ‘I’m Worldwide Handsome’ energy.

Telepathy: a book with strong family bonds

Every time during the same day
I am the happiest when I meet you
Every time even in a different everyday life
You’re the most special person to me

^ This part of the song really makes me think of my family and long-distance video calls! Definitely an upbeat, feel-good song.

‘The Knife of Never Letting Go’ by Patrick Ness

Aside from all the other things I loved about this book (and the trilogy at large), one of the things that stood out to me was the relationship between the protagonist Todd and his adoptive fathers, especially Ben. I’ll also count Todd’s bond with his dog Manchee, as obviously he’s part of Todd’s family too!

Everyday I comfort myself
They’re all the same, ain’t so special
Ayy, man keep one, two step
Let’s calmly treat them all

‘Heartstopper’ by Alice Oseman

When I am down, and oh my soul, so weary… oh wait, wrong song… During times of high stress, I can always count on Heartstopper to make me feel more at ease and peaceful. I don’t even need to actually read it each time – just thinking about it is enough to make me feel happier!

‘Dis-ease’ talks about the ‘disease’ of overworking as well as ‘dis’-ease (unease/uncertainty), and having to front like you’re okay. However, in classic BTS fashion this song is also a hopeful one – we should treat/comfort ourselves and carry on one step at a time, and though it might take a while we’ll be okay. Favourite part of the song: Jimin’s ‘woooo’ in the bridge! (Or is it JK’s? We need a performance of this song!)

I thought a fitting prompt would be to pick a book that we turn to for relaxation or to feel better. Comfort reading is an act of self-care!

Stay: a book filled with yearning

The cold wind blows
I take your hand, I feel your breath
I close my eyes
We are together

‘Girl, Serpent, Thorn’ by Melissa Bashardoust

The intense sapphic yearning in this was unexpected yet I became completely invested. It was really tender and was one of my favourites out of the many sapphic books I’ve read this year (2020 is really serving a lot of sapphic content!).

‘Stay’ is a song about BTS missing their fans during COVID but also appreciating how the Internet can let them communicate with each other. The whole ‘though we are apart, we’re always together’ kind of concept. I love the lyrics, music-wise ‘Stay’ isn’t my favourite, but it’s very dance-y! [Dec update: it’s grown on me so much and now is one of my faves from ‘BE’ hahaha]

Dynamite: book with a retro cover

Shining through the city with a little funk and soul
So I’ma light it up like dynamite

‘The Ladybird Book of Dating’ by Jason Hazeley and Joel Morris

I received this a few years ago as a joke Christmas gift – I’m known amongst friends and family as the person who’s constantly falling in and out of crushes, so this little book was absolutely hilarious. I love the nostalgic concept of these children’s books…but for ‘grown-up’ topics!

Here’s a list of text-only prompts if graphics aren’t your jam:

  • ‘Life Goes On’: Book to remember 2020 by
  • ‘Fly To My Room’: Book with a new perspective
  • ‘Blue & Grey’: Book with mental health topics
  • ‘Skit’: Book with great banter or made you laugh
  • ‘Telepathy’: Book with strong family bonds
  • ‘Dis-ease’: A comfort read
  • ‘Stay’: A book filled with yearning
  • ‘Dynamite’: Book with a retro cover

Tagging…

I wasn’t sure exactly who to tag for this hahaha but first I’ll go off of who seems to know of BTS from my BTS TTT post!

Even if you’re tagged, please don’t feel pressured to do it! This is all just for fun.

Your ‘BE’ Book Tag posts!

May @ Forever and Everly did this with her Percy Jackson/Heroes of Olympus Character Book Tag (see my tag post for it here!) and I’d love to feature your posts for the ‘BE’ Book Tag! Pingback your post to me so I can see and and add it to this list!

Thanks for reading! If you do this tag, I hope you’ll enjoy 😊💜 Let me know what you think of this tag, BTS and the new ‘BE’ album in the comments!

34 thoughts on “The BTS ‘BE’ Book Tag (Original!) + song commentary

  1. Thanks for the tag! I love the Chaos Walking trilogy too and I’ve only read one volume of Heartstopper so far but it made me smile so much that I can’t wait to read the rest. The tag graphics look brilliant and this tag looks like a lot of fun.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Ahh thanks for the tag! I hope to be able to do it soon 🙂 I’m still discovering every song on the new album, but at the moment my faves are Life Goes On (the music video also made me tear up tbh), Blue and Grey and Dis-Ease.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. You’re welcome!! Hope you’ll enjoy the tag 😄 Those songs are such good picks – tbh you could probably pick any one from the new album, and it would still be good! The Life Goes On MV is amazing, I like watching reactions to it and seeing other people feeling touched by it as well, hahaha.

      Like

  3. Ahh I love this book tag idea so much! I haven’t done a tag in a while, so I might just have to do it. Be is my favorite BTS album so far (Telepathy, Dis-ease, and Life Goes On are so catchy!). I haven’t read any of the books you mentioned, but I’ve been hearing a lot of positive things about Heartstopper recently!

    claire @ clairefy

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Aww thank you so much and please consider yourself tagged, I’d love to see your answers!! 💜 BE is so awesome, I love it more and more every time I listen which is impressive as I found it amazing already the first time I heard it 😂 Ooh if you do read Heartstopper I hope you’ll enjoy as much as I did!

      Like

  4. It’s been ages since I read The Raven Cycle, but I loved that series so much, and Blue Lily, Lily Blue was my favorite novel from the series. 😀 I haven’t yet read Girl, Serpent, Thorn, but I’m so excited for that one! I’ve heard nothing but great things about it, and I do love some yearning in my books. Great post! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment